Cloud-Native Appliances

Our goal is to provide our customers with a managed Kubernetes Cluster, designed and prerpared to run all of their applications. The main advantage for our customers: They only need to run their applications – Cloudibility covers all the other aspects, such as Kubernetes, Storage, Update-Management and Application Deployment. All components are tested and coordinated with each other, giving you the good feeling of a commercial solution, despite all components being OpenSource and Community-driven.

Variants of Managed Kubernetes Clusters

Cloudibility defined and develops two variants of our managed clusters:
  • CNA – Cloud Native Appliance
  • CNVA – Cloud Native Virtual Appliance

CNA

CNA stands for Cloud-Native Appliance. This variant is developed to run resource- and IO-intensive applications on dedicated and certified hardware. CNA provides a complete solution on top of the specified hardware, including Kubernetes, Logging, Monitoring, Security, CI/CD and System Management. CNA is able to integrate with Private- as well as Public Cloud-environments, such as OpenStack, AWS, Azure, GCE or OTC. CNA is provided as a complete bundle consisting of Hardware and Software-components. Cloudibility experts manage all aspects of the solution, therefore the customer literally needs to provide energy and network-supply – everything else is managed by Cloudibility without affecting any of the customer’s other infrastructures.

CNVA

CNVA stands for Cloud-Native Virtual Appliance. This solution is the virtual counterpart to CNA, as it consists of basically the same software components as CNA, but is designed to run on Private- as well as Public-Cloud environments. For Private Cloud-environments, we expect OpenStack as underlying foundation to be present. All environments are tested by Cloudibility engineers for compatibility before rolling out the solution – thus avoiding negative surprises in regards to compatibility and operations. CNVA was developed to scale above clouds (Multi-Cloud-approach) and at the same to handle workloads in one cluster. It provides our customers with a completely managed solution for production-grade clusters as well as a basically managed solution for other cluster workloads, such as Development- and Test-environments. With the integration of native Cloud-Storage-technologies such as Rook.io and Ceph, CNVA allows customers to utilize the full potential of modern Kubernetes environments at reasonable prices.

Technical Integration

CNVA was developed from scratch for integration with most current Cloud-vendors and therefore abstracts the underlying complexity from users and customers. CNVA has a sophisticated UI allowing easy management of workloads across multiple clouds. Cloudibility tested and integrated several technology stacks in CNVA in order to ensure this.

Networking

CNVA concentrates on Overlay-Networks, therefore abstracting clusters from the functionalities of different vendors. As of now, Calico and Tungsten Fabric are certified for production environments, whereas Webart and Flanell can be used additionally in non-productive environments. Communication across clusters is ensured using automated integration with Cilium. Service-Networking can optionally activated using ISTIO.

Storage

Although there is no Cloud-Native approach to storage, many applications – even when based on Microservices and therefore designed to run in Cloud-Native environments – demand persistent storage. Different Cloud-vendors offer different approaches to storage, which could lead to Vendor-Lock-In-scenarios, when not avoided. Therefore, Cloudibility provided integration with Rook.io, an abstraction layer for Cloud-Native-Storage-solutions, which does all the heavy-lifting in the background. Additionally, Cloudibility is able to integrate all CSI-ready solutions into CNVA.

Multi-Cloud

CNVA was and is developed with our customer’s Multi-Cloud-environments in mind. This allows for deep integration of different Cloud-vendors to run our customer’s workloads on Cloud- and on Bare-Metal-environments. Supported Clouds are: AWS, GCE, OTC, Azure, OpenStack and VMware as well as Bare Metal installations.

CI/CD

Cloud- and Cloud-Native implies continous integration and continous deployment. We tested and prebuilt several CI/CD-components to support traditional workloads as well as new projects. The most important solutions already integrated into CNVA are based on Jenkins, GitLab, Nexus and Maven.

Need more information?

If you need more information about CNA and CNVA, kindly contant our sales team at sales@cloudibility.io!

CloudNative Appliances

CloudNative Appliances

Zielsetzung

Unser Ziel ist es, dem Kunden einen gemanagten Kubernetes Cluster zur Verfügung zu stellen, um seine Anwendungen darauf zu betreiben. Der Vorteil ist, dass der Kunde sich nur um seine Anwendung kümmern muss, da der Kubernetes Cluster durch die Cloudibility gemanagt wird und alle im Paket enthaltenen Komponenten durch die Cloudibility getestet und aufeinander abgestimmt sind. Es gibt 2 Varianten für einen gemanagten Kubernetes Cluster:
  • CNA – Cloud Native Appliance
  • CNVA – Cloud Native Virtual Appliance
Hierzu gibt es ein entsprechendes Lizenzmodell, nachdem der Kunde seine Leistungen, die er in Anspruch nimmt, bezahlen muss.

CNA

Die CNA, Cloud Native Appliance von Cloudibility, wurde ursprünglich entwickelt, um ressourcenintensive und IO-intensive Anwendungen auf dedizierter und fein abgestimmter Hardware zu bedienen. Die CNA bietet seinen Nutzern neben den integrierten Kubernetes-Funktionen eine abgestimmte Basis an Anwendungen für Monitoring, Logging, Security und Gesamtmanagement. Aufgrund der Kundennachfrage passte Cloudibility die Lösung an die Arbeit mit Cloud-Infrastrukturen wie AWS, AZURE, OTC und OpenStack an. Bei der CNA bekommt der Kunde ein komplettes Paket bestehend aus Hardware und Softwarekomponenten als fertiges Bundle inkl. dem gemanagten Kubernetes Cluster. Diese Black Box kann der Kunde einfach in seine bestehende Infrastruktur integrieren.

CNVA

Die CNVA ist das virtuelle Gegenstück zum CNA. Bei der CNVA bekommt der Kunde ein komplettes Software Paket mit allen Softwarekomponenten als fertiges Bundle inkl. dem gemanagten Kubernetes Cluster. Dieses Paket kann der Kunde auf Cloud-Infrastrukturen betreiben, die von der Cloudibility getestet wurden. Im ersten Schritt wird OpenStack verwendet. Die CNVA wurde entwickelt, um über mehrere Clouds (Multi-Cloud) hinweg zu skalieren und gleichzeitig die Möglichkeit zu bieten, Workloads wie in einem Cluster zu behandeln. Es bietet eine vollständig verwaltete Lösung für Produktionscluster und eine begrenzt unterstützte Lösung für jeden anderen Cluster-Workload. Mit der Integration von nativen Cloud-Speichertechnologien wie Rook ermöglicht die CNVA den Nutzern, das volle Potenzial von Kubernetes zu einem günstigen Preis zu nutzen.

Technische Integration

Die CNVA ist für die Integration mit den meisten aktuellen Cloud-Anbietern konzipiert und abstrahiert die Komplexität von den Anwendern. Sie bietet eine einzigartige Oberfläche über mehrere Clouds hinweg. Um dies zu erreichen, hat Cloudibilty mehrere Technologielösungen getestet und in CNVA integriert.

Network

CNVA konzentriert sich auf Overlay-Netzwerke, sodass Cluster nicht auf die Funktionalität verschiedener Cloud-Anbieter angewiesen sind. Ab sofort sind Calico und Tungsten Fabric für Produktionsumgebungen zertifiziert. Für den nicht-produktiven Einsatz können auch Webart und Flanell gewählt werden. Die clusterübergreifende Kommunikation wird durch eine automatisierte Integration mit Cilium erreicht. Die Dienstvernetzung kann optional mit ISTIO aktiviert werden.

Storage

Obwohl es keinen echten nativen Cloud-Ansatz für Storage gibt, hat die Zeit gezeigt, dass viele Anwendungen, auch wenn sie auf Microservice basieren, persistenten Storage benötigen. Selbst wenn der Speicher über Cloud-APIs zugewiesen werden kann, ist der native Cloud-Speicher, der rollierende Updates usw. ermöglichen würde, in den meisten Fällen nicht üblich. Um dieses Problem zu lösen, konzentrierte sich Cloudibility auf die Integration mit Cloud Native Storage-Systemen wie Rook. Darüber hinaus kann Cloudibility alle CSI-fähigen Speicheranwendungen in CNVA integrieren.

Cloud

CNVA wurde und wird mit Blick auf Multi-Cloud-Umgebungen unserer Kunden entwickelt. Dies ermöglicht eine weitgehende Integration verschiedener Cloud-Anbieter, um die Workloads unserer Kunden auf allen Clouds und Bare Metal zu unterstützen. Derzeit unterstützte Clouds sind AWS, GCE, OTC, AZURE, OpenStack und VMware sowie Bare Metal Installationen.

CI/CD

Cloud und Cloud Native bedeutet kontinuierliche Integration und kontinuierliche Bereitstellung. Wir haben eine Reihe von CI/CD-Lösungen getestet und vordefiniert, um sowohl traditionelle Workloads als auch Starterwartungen zu unterstützen. Die wichtigsten Lösungen, die Cloudibility beinhaltet, basieren auf Jenkins und GitLab.